MotoGP: Factfile before the Laguna Seca race

All the facts you need to know. And some you don't

Here are some facts to get stuck into before the Laguna Seca MotoGP race.

  • None of the MotoGP races this year have been won from pole position.
  • Casey Stoner starts from pole for the third time in 2007 and the fourth time in his premier-class career.
  • Stoner has failed to finish on the podium from each of his previous three pole starts.
  • Stoner's qualifying time was 0.378 seconds faster than the previous pole record here, set in 2005 by Nicky Hayden.
  • Stoner is looking to become the first rider this season to win a race from the front of the grid.
  • This is the first MotoGP pole for Ducati at Laguna Seca.
  • The top fifteen riders on the grid have qualified within a second of pole.
  • Dani Pedrosa starts from the front row for the sixth time in 2007.
  • Pedrosa is aiming to take back-to-back MotoGP victories for the first time.
  • Chris Vermeulen's fifth place finish here last year was the best dry weather result of his rookie season.
  • Nicky Hayden starts two places higher up the grid than last year, when he went on to win the race.
  • Valentino Rossi is aiming to win at Laguna Seca for the first time. The only other current circuits where Rossi has not won a MotoGP race are Istanbul Park and Misano.
  • Loris Capirossi and Nicky Hayden are the only riders on the grid to have previously won a Grand Prix at Laguna Seca, Capirossi having taken 250cc victory in 1993.
  • John Hopkins starts from his lowest grid position since round six at Mugello.
  • Marco Melandri and Casey Stoner are the only riders to have scored points at every race this year.
  • Chaz Davies is the fourth youngest rider to race a four-stroke MotoGP machine after Michel Fabrizio, John Hopkins and Casey Stoner.
  • Miguel Duhamel is the first Canadian to ride a four-stroke MotoGP machine.
  • Valentino Rossi, Loris Capirossi and Marco Melandri are aiming to score the 200th premier-class victory for Italy.
  • Honda are targeting back-to-back MotoGP victories for the first time since Hayden and Pedrosa won at Assen and Donington Park respectively last year.

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now