Enduro: Jonny Walker wins Megawatt

Brit rider takes win by three seconds

RED Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jonny Walker has won the 2016 Megawatt Hard Enduro in Poland.

The British rider took the win by the narrowest of margins ahead of Rockstar Husqvarna’s Mario Roman, who put his MX skills to good use and almost snatched the victory from Walker on a final climb. He finished just three seconds behind.

Sherco rider Wade Young followed in third, just 20 seconds back.

Walker had been fastest during Saturday’s qualifying race but the opening lap of the race proved challenging for the leading riders on the soft, sandy hills.

With the top four riders trading the lead during lap two, Walker took the reigns for lap three, opened a gap right to the last climb where he almost lost it, coming up short and having to push his way across the line a bike length ahead of Roman.

Walker, from Cumbria, has been out the mix for much of 2016 after breaking his leg during the Super Enduro Championship over last winter, most recently retiring from the Romaniacs after aggravating the injury.

He said: “It’s great to be back racing. After so many months away from serious competition I was looking forward to this race. To win it is an awesome feeling.

“I’d have been happy with any result on the podium but the race went really well. I knew that I could either win or lose the race on the final hill, it was that kind of event.

“Thankfully I managed to get close enough to the top of the last climb that I was able to push to the top. It was close, but I got the win so I’m made up.”

Although he did lead for a period, extreme enduro legend Graham Jarvis suffered in the slightly different format of the Megawatt. The mix of extreme and much faster, almost beach race-like sections didn’t play into the Husqvarna rider’s hands this time.

Never the fastest in the MX section, Jarvis wasn’t able to make up the difference in the technical sections as he so often does. He came home fourth but still less than 30 seconds behind Walker.

The Megawatt event’s king pin, Poland’s Taddy Blazusiak, led early on but dropped off the pace and came home in fifth some five minutes back of his KTM Factory team-mate Walker.

Results: Megawatt 2016

1. Jonny Walker (KTM) 2:47:27

2. Mario Roman (Husqvarna) 2:47:30

3. Wade Young (Sherco) 2:47:47

4. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna) 2:47:56

5. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM) 2:54:20

6. Manni Lettenbichler (KTM) 2:57:44

7. Alfredo Gomez (KTM) 3:06:08

8. Adam Tomiczek (KTM) 3:16:17

9. David Cyprian (KTM) 3:17:54

10. Stefan Svitko (KTM) 3:18:31

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now