Byrne battles back to take Brands Hatch opener

Byrne claims fifth win of the year

Shane Byrne has claimed his fifth win of the year after battling from a dreadful start to cut his way up from sixth to the lead before fending off Leon Haslam in the closing stages. 

The MCE British Superbike championship leader got poor drive off the line and dropped from second on the grid to drop down to sixth but produced a masterful performance to work his way back through the pack. 

Byrne's charge was boosted by a mid-race safety car which bunched the field and after moving int second place he dived up the inside of Tommy Bridewell at Hawthorns for the lead with four laps to go. 

Title rival Haslam acted as Byrne's nearest rival in the final few laps after Bridewell fell back before crashing on the last lap, but the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider couldn't slash the time gap to the four-time champion. 

With Bridewell tipping off, pole man Luke Mossey claimed the final podium place ahead of Honda's Jason O'Halloran and Buildbase BMW's Lee Jackson.

Broc Parkes maintained impressive pace upon his return to BSB with sixth by fending off Dan Linfoot with Ricard Cooper, Christian Iddon and James Ellison completing the top ten.


Full race one results:

1. Shane Byrne GBR Be Wiser Ducati Panigale R 20 laps 
2. Leon Haslam GBR JG Speedfit Kawasaki ZX-10R +0.518s 
3. Luke Mossey GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki ZX-10R +2.078s 
4. Jason O'Halloran AUS Honda Racing CBR1000RR +4.079s 
5. Lee Jackson GBR Buildbase BMW S1000RR +7.417s 
6. Broc Parkes AUS ePayMe Yamaha YZF-R1 +7.605s 
7. Dan Linfoot GBR Honda Racing CBR1000RR +7.876s 
8. Richard Cooper GBR Buildbase BMW S1000RR +9.017s 
9. Christian Iddon GBR Tyco BMW S1000RR +9.635s 
10. James Ellison GBR JG Speedfit Kawasaki ZX-10R +12.654s 
11. Peter Hickman GBR JG Speedfit Kawasaki ZX-10R +12.758s 
12. Billy McConnell AUS FS-3 Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R +14.299s 
13. Jake Dixon GBR RAF Reserves BMW S1000RR +15.499s 
14. Michael Laverty GBR Tyco BMW S1000RR +16.597s 
15. John Hopkins USA ePayMe Yamaha YZF-R1 +16.692s 

16. Alastair Seeley GBR Royal Air Force BMW S1000RR +19.936s 
17. Martin Jessopp GBR Riders Motorcycles BMW S1000RR +20.930s 
18. James Rispoli USA Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha YZF-R1 +23.540s 
19. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Bennetts Suzuki GSX-R1000 +32.072s 
20. Josh Hook AUS Team WD-40 Kawasaki ZX-10R +32.129s 
21. Aaron Zanotti GBR Platform Hire Yamaha YZF-R1 +36.249s 
22. Josh Wainwright GBR Lloyd & Jones/PR BMW S1000RR +36.572s 
23. Vittorio Iannuzzo ITA Gearlink Kawasaki ZX-10R +37.380s 
24. Shaun Winfield GBR Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha YZF-R1 +43.373s 
25. Tommy Bridewell GBR Bennetts Suzuki GSX-R1000 +1 lap 

Did not finish 

Glenn Irwin GBR Be Wiser Ducati Panigale R
Jack Kennedy IRE Team WD-40 Kawasaki ZX-10R
Filip Backlund GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki ZX-10R
Danny Buchan GBR Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati Panigale R
Jakub Smrz CZE Smiths Racing BMW S1000RR

Did not start 

Jenny Tinmouth GBR Honda Racing CBR1000RR

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Reviews


Latest Videos