BSB 2014: Silverstone race 2 results

Ellison back on podium, Byrne and Kiyonari's battle rages on

AFTER disappointment in race one, Ryuichi Kiyonari came out fighting and grabbed race two victory by 0.074s from Shane Byrne.

Despite starting from pole position, Byrne was soon put in his place by Buildbase BMW rider Kiyonari at Club on lap two. Brookes was forced to settle with third until Village where the Australian made a move on Byrne. But Byrne was not giving up without a fight and moved straight back into second.

Brookes waited in the shadows of both Kiyonari and Byrne, but crashed out on lap six at Brooklands (pictured). The Milwaukee rider can no longer touch the triple champions in the championship standings.

Byrne wasn’t settling for second and on the penultimate lap took the lead at Village. After a second place in race two, Kiyonari lunged back at the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider as they crossed the line with only 0.145s difference.

The last lap saw more overtakes, with Byrne trying repeatedly to regain the lead from Kiyonari. But the Japanese rider defended hard, leaving Byrne in second with only 12 points between the two.

Recovering from injury, GBmoto’s James Ellison finished in third place after battling with Milwaukee Yamaha’s Tommy Bridewell.

Tyco Suzuki’s Josh Waters finished in fifth once again, while his team-mate John Hopkins retired.

Race two results:

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Buildbase BMW
2. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +0.074
3. James Ellison GBR GBmoto Kawasaki +10.008
4. Tommy Bridewell GBR Milwaukee Yamaha +10.101
5. Josh Waters AUS Tyco Suzuki +13.766
6. Stuart Easton GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +15.719
7. Dan Linfoot GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +15.765
8. Julien Da Costa FRA Honda Racing +15.967
9. Peter Hickman GBR RAF Reserves Honda +18.278
10. James Westmoreland GBR Buildbase BMW +21.791
11. Filip Backlund SWE FXX Yamaha +25.097
12. Chris Walker GBR GBmoto Kawasaki +33.536
13. Patric Muff SUI Bathams BMW +35.883
14. Howie Mainwaring GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +37.051
15. Jon Kirkham GBR Halsall Kawasaki +39.414
16. Martin Jessopp GBR +39.641
17. Shaun Winfield GBR Anvil TAG Kawasaki +1:16.013
18. Christophe Ponsson LUX Alstare Junior Bimota +1:16.288
19. Aaron Zanotti GBR AZ Suzuki +1:16.486
20. Jenny Tinmouth GBR TWR Honda +1:17.807

DNF. Barry Burrell GBR WD-40 Kawasaki
DNF. John Ingram GBR Morello Services PBR Kawasaki
DNF. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee Yamaha
DNF. Robbin Harms DEN MotoDex Performance BMW
DNF. Gary Mason GBR Tsingtao WK Kawasaki
DNF. John Hopkins USA Tyco Suzuki 

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Videos