BSB 2014: Brands Hatch race 2 results

Byrne clinches the 2014 British Superbike title for the fourth time

SHANE ‘Shakey’ Byrne won the second British Superbike race of the weekend to take the British Superbike Championship title for the fourth time.

Byrne’s win in race two meant his rival Ryuichi Kiyonari, who had to sit out all three races due to a fractured collarbone, was unable to challenge for the title.

It was Quattro Plant Kawasaki’s Dan Linfoot that led, followed James Ellison for GBmoto. Byrne didn’t have a great start, but slotted into ninth leaving him with work to do.

Race one winner Howie Mainwaring pushed ahead of Ellison on the ninth lap, leading the pack. Byrne picked his way through the field to move up to the front and take the lead despite having to keep Mainwaring at bay.

Mainwaring was not giving up the fight and made a move at Druids to regain the lead. It wasn’t long before Byrne attacked again by making a fast run down Pilgrims to retain his lead.

Mainwaring made a slight mistake sliding out of Surtees, allowing GBmoto’s Ellison to take advantage to move ahead of the race one winner.

Both Mainwaring and Ellison were put under pressure by Australian Josh Brookes and on the final lap there was nothing in it. But Milwaukee Yamaha’s Brookes was unable to secure a place on the podium, with Ellison taking second ahead of Mainwaring and Byrne taking the victory.

Race two results:

1. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
2. James Ellison GBR GBmoto Kawasaki +1.904
3. Howie Mainwaring GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +2.095
4. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee Yamaha +2.253
5. Stuart Easton GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +3.922
6. Tommy Bridewell GBR Milwaukee Yamaha +4.152
7. Jon Kirkham GBR Halsall Kawasaki +4.875
8. Dan Linfoot GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +7.527
9. James Westmoreland GBR Buildbase BMW +9.188
10. John Hopkins USA Tyco Suzuki +9.278
13. Peter Hickman GBR RAF Reserves Honda +11.354
11. Jakub Smrz CZE Moto Rapido Ducati +13.528
12. Patric Muff SUI Bathams BMW +17.671
13. Julien Da Costa FRA Honda Racing +18.194
14. Filip Backlund SWE FXX Yamaha +18.308
15. Josh Waters AUS Tyco Suzuki +24.147
16. John Ingram GBR Morello Services PBR Kawasaki +47.168
17. Jed Metcher AUS PR Kawasaki +58.762
18. Jenny Tinmouth GBR TWR Honda +1:04.216
19. Shaun Winfield GBR Anvil TAG Kawasaki +1:16.772
20. Rhalf Lo Turco BRA SBK City Kawasaki +1:20.994 
21. Christophe Ponsson LUX Alstare Bimota +1:23.707 
22. Aaron Zanotti GBR STEL Suzuki  +1:23.828
DNF. Robbin Harms DEN MotoDex BMW
DNF. Chris Walker GBR GBmoto Kawasaki
DNF. Ben Wilson GBR Gearlink Kawasaki
DNF. Martin Jessopp GBR RidersMotorcyles BMW
DNF. Bryan Staring AUS WD-40 Kawasaki 

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Videos