BSB 2014: Assen race 2 results

The War for Four is well and truly on

DESPITE gaining no points in race one, Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne was back to his winning ways in race one after mugging Ryuichi Kiyonari of a win at the last corner.

Tyco Suzuki’s John Hopkins led from the start as the first lap drama began with Title Fighter Chris Walker crashing out along with RAF Reserves Honda’s Peter Hickman.

It wasn’t long before Buildbase BMW’s Ryuichi Kiyonari claimed an advantage over Hopkins with Byrne closing in on the front two although Kiyonari had set his sights on taking the chequered flag first.

Kiyonari vs. Byrne went down to the last lap, the last corner where Byrne pounced into the final chicane to get the drive onto the start/finish straight to cross the line first with Kiyonari in second and Milwaukee Yamaha’s Tommy Bridewell in third. Bridewell’s team-mate and Title Fighter Josh Brookes was forced to retire after dropping back to dead last, 25th, before dropping into the pits due to a technical problem.

Dan Linfoot finished in fourth whilst Tyco Suzuki’s John Hopkins dropped down to fifth after being unable to stick with the leading group. Race ones third place finisher Stuart Easton finished sixth with GBmoto’s James Ellison in seventh.

Race one winner Josh Waters finished within the top ten in eighth, Filip Backlund ninth and James Westmoreland in tenth.


1. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 29:33.013 
2. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Buildbase BMW +0.152
3. Tommy Bridewell GBR Milwaukee Yamaha +0.460
4. Dan Linfoot GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +4.170
5. John Hopkins USA Tyco Suzuki +8.759
6. Stuart Easton GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +12.203
7. James Ellison GBR GBmoto Kawasaki +17.729
8. Josh Waters AUS Tyco Suzuki +30.214
9. Filip Backlund SWE FXX Yamaha +32.308
10. James Westmoreland GBR Buildbase BMW +33.060
11. Kevin Valk NED Anvil TAG Kawasaki +36.584
12. Lee Jackson GBR Buildbase BMW +39.918
13. Jed Metcher AUS PR Kawasaki +49.691
14. Martin Jessopp GBR BMW +49.842
15. Barry Burrell GBR WD-40 Kawasaki +49.959
16. John Ingram GBR Morello Services PBR Kawasaki +58.015
17. Christophe Ponsson LUX Alstare Junior Bimota +1:07.456
18. Mitchell Carr AUS Anvil TAG Kawasaki +1:39.131

DNF. Gary Mason GBR Tsingtao WK Kawasaki
DNF. Rhalf Lo Turco BRA SBK City Kawasaki  
DNF. Joe Burns GBR Refresh Debt Solutions Kawasaki
DNF. Howie Mainwaring GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki
DNF. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee Yamaha
DNF. Jon Kirkham GBR Halsall Kawasaki  
DNF. Christian Iddon GBR Alstare Junior Bimota
DNF. Aaron Zanotti GBR AZ Suzuki  
DNF. Ben Wilson GBR Gearlink Kawasaki
DNF. Chris Walker GBR GBmoto Kawasaki
DNF. Peter Hickman GBR RAF Reserves Honda
DNF. Patric Muff SUI Bathams BMW 

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Videos