BSB 2013: Thruxton race results

Double for Shakey makes him BSB's most successful rider

SHANE 'Shakey' Byrne bagged his 44th BSB win to become the championship's most successful rider, after taking the second victory of the weekend at Thruxton.

The safety car came out twice as Ryuichi Kiyonari and then Lee Costello crashed out, followed by the red flag coming out as Karl Harris and Tommy Bridewell crashed. In between, Byrne was able to defend his initial lead from Alex Lowes, who held off a hard-charging James Ellison after Josh Brookes slipped back.

In the first race, Byrne had taken a well-fought victory with a last lap move on Brookes.

Byrne said: 'Winning that second race was very important to me as I wanted to become the most successful rider in the championship but there was nothing easy about it. Alex Lowes was pushing me all of the way, but even though the race was red-flagged early I have done the double and that makes me a happy man.'

British Superbike Championship 2013, Thruxton

Race 1 results:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 26m 31.579s
  2. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.301s
  3. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.663s
  4. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +6.415s
  5. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +6.533s
  6. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +6.778s

Race 2 results:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 18m 39.335s
  2. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.245s
  3. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.656s
  4. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.757s
  5. Michael Rutter (Bathams Honda) +1.819s
  6. Keith Farmer (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +1.908s

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now