BSB 2013: Donington Park Race Results

Showdown contenders decided

A poor start from maiden pole sitter James Westmoreland allowed the usual suspects to hit the front early on in race one. Alex Lowes, Shane Byrne and James Ellison pulled out a solid gap to the chasing pack and ran an incredible pace all the way to the flag. It looked as though Byrne would make a move on the final lap, but Lowes was strong enough on the brakes to hold off the attentions of the triple champion.

James Ellison’s third position secured his place in the crucial showdown part of the championship, “I'm really happy with third, and to be running the same pace as the front guys. It’s job done as far as the showdown is concerned,” he said. Showdown contender Ryuichi Kiyonari had a tough time of it, dropping all the way back to 19th early on before eventually coming through in the points to finish 13th.

Race two looked to be a mirror image of the first contest, with Lowes and Byrne getting by pole-sitter Westmoreland on the Buildbase BMW. Despite a last lap tussle with Shakey moving past Lowes on the entry to the Fogarty Esses but losing out to the Samsung Honda rider on exit, with Lowes holding on for the win. It was another sensational podium for Tommy Bridewell on the Halsall Racing Kawasaki ahead of James Westmoreland. Westmoreland just scored enough points to secure his showdown position to join Kiyonari, Ellison, Brooks, Lowes and Byrne for the all out assault on the title over the final three events. 

BSB Donington Park

Race one

  1. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda)
  2. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.111s
  3. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.521s
  4. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +6.866s
  5. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +11.628s
  6. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +18.210s
  7. Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +19.873s
  8. Jakub Smrz (Padgetts Honda) +20.435s
  9. PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +23.489s
  10. Barry Burrell (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +28.550s

Race two

  1. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda)
  2. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.058s
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Halsall Racing Kawasaki) +2.327s
  4. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +3.667s
  5. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +4.494s
  6. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +9.365s
  7. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +15.597s
  8. Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +20.645s
  9. PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +21.048s
  10. Jakub Smrz (Padgetts Honda) +21.350s

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now