WSB: Haga does the double at Monza

Blazing pace from Yamaha's number one

NORIYUKI Haga destroyed the opposition at Monza World Superbikes over the weekend. Despite winning the double, Haga couldn't catch James Toseland, who added to his Superbikes championship lead with a fourth and second place finish.

While Haga had a stormer, the Roman Emporer, Max Biaggi slipped down the standings after taking a third and fifth. Bayliss, who many expected to dominate this season, could only follow Haga in race one and in race two, he lost out to Toseland by less than 0.2 seconds.

Pushing the front ... Haga on a mission

Toseland now has 229 points, with Haga on 194 and Biaggi on 191.

This was the first race where Toseland went away without a win. The young Brit chose a soft-compound rear tyre in race one, a move that surely cost him a podium finish.

World Superbike Championship Round 6, Monza, Italy

Race 1 (18 Laps):

1 Noriyuki Haga (Jpn) Yamaha 32mins 04.428secs

2 Troy Bayliss (Aus) Ducati 32:12.831

3 Max Biaggi (Ita) Suzuki 32:14.131

4 James Toseland (Gbr) Honda 32:18.015

5 Troy Corser (Aus) Yamaha 32:19.326

6 Yukio Kagayama (Jpn) Suzuki 32:19.382

7 Lorenzo Lanzi (Ita) Ducati 32:23.945

8 Michel Fabrizio (Ita) Honda 32:28.548

9 Karl Muggeridge (Aus) Honda 32:29.110

10 Max Neukirchner (Ger) Suzuki 32:33.625

[b]Race 2 (18 Laps):[b]

1 Noriyuki Haga (Jpn) Yamaha 32mins 05.318secs

2 James Toseland (Gbr) Honda 32:08.009

3 Troy Bayliss (Aus) Ducati 32:08.159

4 Roberto Rolfo (Ita) Honda 32:08.506

5 Max Biaggi (Ita) Suzuki 32:08.869

6 Troy Corser (Aus) Yamaha 32:18.532

7 Yukio Kagayama (Jpn) Suzuki 32:22.564

8 Regis Laconi (Fra) Kawasaki 32:23.728

9 Karl Muggeridge (Aus) Honda 32:34.335

10 Jakub Smrz (Cze) Ducati 32:35.004

Championship Standings:

1 James Toseland (Gbr) Honda 229pts

2 Noriyuki Haga (Jpn) Yamaha 194

3 Max Biaggi (Ita) Suzuki 191

4 Troy Bayliss (Aus) Ducati 164

5 Troy Corser (Aus) Yamaha 135

6 Lorenzo Lanzi (Ita) Ducati 107

7 Ruben Xaus (Spa) Ducati 106

8 Max Neukirchner (Ger) Suzuki 81

9 Roberto Rolfo (Ita) Honda 77

10 Yukio Kagayama (Jpn) Suzuki 60

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Videos