Voting opens for Motor Sport Hall of Fame

Which acclaimed motorcyclist do you think deserves a spot in the Hall of Fame?

Voting opens for Motor Sport Hall of Fame

TWELVE motorcycling greats have made it into the Motor Sport Hall of Fame 2018 shortlist, and now the organisers are calling on you to decide who makes the cut.

The winning rider will be joining the likes of John Surtees, Giacomo Agostini, John McGuinness, Valentino Rossi and Barry Sheene in the prestigious line-up.

The 2018 nominees are…

Mike Hailwood MBE: ‘Mike the Bike’ ended his glorious TT career in the late-1970s with 14 Isle of Man wins and nine Grand Prix world championships.

Geoff Duke OBE: Duke won three world titles for Norton and three with Gilera. The racing legend also had six TT races to his name.

Soichiro Honda: Honda’s founder and president had a tremendous impact on the world of motorcycling.

Casey Stoner: After dominating the 2007 season with Ducati, the Australian moved to Honda for 2011 to become a two-time MotoGP champion by the age of 26.

Wayne Rainey: Rainey’s fierce rivalry with Kevin Schwantz reportedly inspired him to take a hat-trick of championships in 1990, ’91 and ’92.

Kevin Schwantz: Arguably one of the most famous names in motorcycling, Schwantz was a 25 times Grand Prix winner and the 1993 500cc world champion.

Freddie Spencer: ‘Fast Freddie’ won a historic double championship in 1985, when he took both the 250cc and 500cc victories.

Kenny Roberts: Robert’s was America’s first world champion, ending his career with a third title in 1983 after a memorable season-long battle with Freddie Spencer.

Joey Dunlop OBE: Dunlop holds the record for the most TT wins, with 26 victories over the course of 23 years.

Eddie Lawson: American Lawson won took 500c world championships in the ‘80s and ‘90s.

Mick Doohan: Aussie Doohan won five consecutive 500cc titles from 1994.

Jim Redman MBE: Redman became a six-time world champion in the 1960s, after achieving a unique 'hat trick' of double wins in 1963, 1964 and 1965 in the Lightweight & Junior Races.

You can vote for your favourite motorcyclist here, with all 2018 inductees to the Motor Sport Hall of Fame to be announced at an Awards dinner, on June 4 at the Royal Automobile Club’s Woodcote Park.

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now


Loading Comments...