NEW Visordown Marketplace

Browse latest bikes for sale. List your bikes for FREE

Haslam handed win after leader Linfoot’s engine blows

Leon Haslam has landed an unlikely victory in the opening race of the BSB Showdown.

Submitted by Haydn Cobb on Sun, 17/09/2017 - 22:31

Leon Haslam [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Leon Haslam has landed an unlikely victory in the opening race of the MCE British Superbike Showdown after Dan Linfoot was cruelly denied the win having led by 10 seconds until an untimely Honda engine blow-up.

The JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider has taken the BSB championship lead by 12 points with his at the Cheshire track having spent the closing laps battling for second place with John Hopkins. After heavy rain soaked the track, Linfoot, a winner in the wet at Silverstone last weekend, stretched into the lead with ease and held a 10-second advantage until his Honda Fireblade expired on lap 16.

With Linfoot’s Honda spilling oil on to the circuit an early red flag was thrown with results taken back to the end of lap 14 which handed Haslam victory and Hopkins second place. Another rider to profit was Josh Brookes on the Anvil Hire Yamaha who completed the podiumto move just one point off Shane Byrne for second place in the BSB standings.

Jake Dixon almost pulled off a miraculous result having been forced to start from the pit lane after suffering a fall in morning warm-up which meant his RAF Reserves Kawasaki team couldn’t fix his bike in time to make the starting grid.

The 21-year-old rider was set to start from pole position but was forced to produce an almighty charge through the BSB pack to take fourth place ahead of McAMS Yamaha pair James Ellison and Michael Laverty.

Buildbase Suzuki’s Bradley Ray impressed with seventh place ahead of BSB Showdown trio Peter Hickman in eighth, Shane Byrne in ninth and Jason O’Halloran in 10th.

Full BSB race one results from Oulton Park:

1. Leon Haslam GBR JG Speedfit Kawasaki ZX-10RR 14 laps, 2m 08.727s

2. John Hopkins USA Moto Rapido Ducati Panigale R +0.314s

3. Josh Brookes AUS Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha YZF-R1 +9.314s

4. Jake Dixon GBR RAF Reserves Kawasaki ZX-10RR +11.690s

5. James Ellison GBR McAMS Yamaha YZF-R1 +12.369s

6. Michael Laverty GBR McAMS Yamaha YZF-R1 +12.630s

7. Bradley Ray GBR Buildbase Suzuki GSX-R1000 +18.370s

8. Peter Hickman GBR Smiths Racing BMW S1000RR +19.903s

9. Shane Byrne GBR Be Wiser Ducati Panigale R +20.497s

10. Jason O’Halloran AUS Honda Racing CBR1000RR +20.758s

11. Glenn Irwin GBR Be Wiser Ducati Panigale R +21.202s

12. Lee Jackson GBR Smiths Racing BMW S1000RR +21.612s

13. Jakub Smrz CZE Lloyd & Jones/PR Racing BMW S1000RR +31.372s

14. James Westmoreland GBR Gearlink Kawasaki ZX-10RR +42.151s

15. Shaun Winfield GBR Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha YZF-R1 +1 lap

16. Dean Harrison GBR Silicone Engineering Racing Kawasaki ZX-10RR +1 lap

17. Aaron Zanotti GBR Platform Hire Yamaha YZF-R1 +1 lap


Did not finish

Dan Linfoot GBR Honda Racing CBR1000RR

Martin Jessopp GBR Ridersmotorcycles BMW S1000RR

Christian Iddon GBR Tyco BMW S1000RR

Tommy Bridewell GBR Team WD-40 Kawasaki ZX-10RR

Sylvain Guintoli FRA Bennetts Suzuki GSX-R1000

Luke Mossey GBR JG Speedfit Kawasaki ZX-10RR

Follow Visordown

Latest News

Latest Features

Crash Media Group
Visordown is part of the CMG Full Throttle Network© : welcoming over 3 million consumers each month