SV650s K6 electrical issues

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
SV650s K6 electrical issues

Help! I put a new stainless exhaust onto my 06 plate SV. I turned the key and the bike came to life but when I pushed the starter switch the whole bike died. Now the electrics won't even fire up and the bike is lifeless. My next plan is to remove the new exhaust and see if the bike will fire up. Am I missing something basic? I'm fairly new to bike ownership so any and all advice is truly appreciated.

On my earlier SV the main fuse is piggy backed into the starter relay, and this is located inside the frame, just above the rear brake master cylinder. This is also the area you'd be working in if replacing the header pipe on the rear cylinder. I'd start looking in that area - when I had corroded terminals in the main relay it caused very similar problems.