99 GSXR 750 CamChain slipping?

26 posts / 0 new
Last post
99 GSXR 750 CamChain slipping?

All,

My exhaust cam had slipped a few teeth resulting in no compression, not firing etc, anyway;

Bike is a 99 GSXR 750 WX with 25k on a standard engine

I'm not a bike mechanic by trade but managed to strip the engine down and reallign the exhaust cam,

fired up 1st time after but sounds a bit rattly

Does anyone know what is needed to fix this problem permanantly,

new tensioner? New Camchain?

Anyone know a good mechanic near SW London?

Call me on 07900 60 50 40

If it's slipped 'a few teeth' I'd be very surprised if Mr. Valve hasn't given Mrs Piston Crown a good hard wallop Are you sure it was out - marks not lined up, wrong number of pins between marks?

i lined up the timing mark on the bottom crankshaft and you then have timing marks on the inlet and exhaust cams that have 1-2-3 on them.1 should be at 3 oclock on the exhaust cam,2 should be at 12 oclock on the exhaust cam3 should be at 12 oclock on the inlet cambasically, 2 was at 1 oclock on the inlet1 was at 4 oclock My initial symptons were not firing, at all, even tho we had spark and fuel.I realigned the exhaust cam but it sounds a bit loud now, it runs, but doesnt sound right

i personally wouldn't turn your engine over till someone with a bit more experience has looked at things as it sounds like you have possibly mis adjusted the timing if the noises are worse than when you started and if you're really unlucky mr valve and some of his brothers are in need of replacement ....also if the valve timing was genuinely out before you adjusted it i'll expect it to need new valves anyway ....the only time i ever put a camshaft in wrong was in a cb350K4 (circa 1974 ish), i put that in 180 degrees out but survived it