Europe Tour on 1989 Honda (help please)

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Europe Tour on 1989 Honda (help please)

Hi

My brother works in Italy and I plan to take my motorbike to Milan to see him. I intend to do this this summer, however it'll be the first time i've left the country on my bike. 

Firstly I am a little worried my Honda CB-1 400Four 1989 model bike (30 000 miles) will blow up mid way. Im fairly handy with repairs but anything major will probably be beyond me while in the middle of Europe. Hence I have been looking at European breakdown cover, and have had no success as nowhere seems to cover bikes over 15-20 years old.

Secondly like i said it is my first time going on a very long trip on the bike. (I've done several 200-400 miles trips in England but nothing quite on the 2000 mile scale.  And so would you consider it a bit of a jump into the deep end as a first Europe tour?

If anyone could give me some advice, on whether I should go ahead with it, what I should do about cover, and any other helpful tips for a noob tourer, i'd be very grateful.

Am I mad for considering such a tour? I have ambitions of traversing the alps as I have done in a car, but is it too risky on such an old bike?

Thank you very much

Cameron.

(Ps my general route plan is from harwich to holland to germany to austria - grossglockner pass and then venice to milan. Getting back will be via interlaken and then france) 

(Pps sorry if this has already been covered on the forums, but i couldn't find anywhere discussing advice for a tour on an older motorbike)

I live in the UK by the way and Norwich area would be my starting point

Also, with regards to the breakdown cover issue, if anyone who has dealt with something similar could tell what they did or give any advice generally on getting cover it would be a great help. cheers