Used Review: Suzuki GSX-R750

A classic headbanger's bike, the SRAD and 750Y models of the legendary GSX-R were once giant killers. But how do they stand the ravages of time?

Posted: 28 September 2008
by Bertie Simmonds

Suzuki's seminal GSX-R range has always offered two things: value and performance. Oh, and reliability and kudos, too. So that's four things.

Either way, how else have so many bikers been offered so much performance and pose for so little outlay? The SRAD and 750Y versions of the ubiquitous Gixxer range both came about when the fashion for 750s was seemingly over.

At the end of 1995, the FireBlade was just entering into its third incarnation, which made the bike a tad softer and easier to ride. From Suzuki, in came the GSX-R750WT SRAD. Out went the old double cradle frame and in came a new aluminium beam frame. The bike was also equipped with a rev-happy motor and the dimensions from Kevin Schwantz's 1993, 500cc championship winning RGV...

Performance wise, it was close to the 'Blade with 122 claimed bhp and an altogether more fiery disposition. For years it stayed the same (save for fuel-injection in 1998) before again transmogrifying itself into another litre-beater sportsbike, the GSX-R750Y.

But this time it wasn't the Honda FireBlade Suzuki had to beat. By now Yamaha's YZF-R1 had taken the top sports bike slot.

Once more the GSX-R750 was hailed as a bike which could 'do the business' up against the litre tools, despite losing out around 250cc. Once more it had everything going for it: looks, price, performance and pose, although now it was facing a two-way battle against not just the bigger bikes, but the sportier 600cc class, too.

Since the inception of both bikes, each model has stayed popular on the second-hand front, with both the SRAD and the 750Y. From £1500 for an SRAD track bike to almost £6000 for a mint late model Y, there's a
little piece of biking history that's affordable to all.

Continue the Suzuki GSX-R750 Used Review



Previous article
Insurance Refugees: TLR, VFR800, ZX-12R & ZX-10R
Next page
Page 2 of 2


MPG, price, review, for sale, parts, forum, specs, top speed, tyres, specifications, bhp, suzuki, gsxr750, horsepower, pictures, seat height, oil, uk, exhaust
TwitterStumbleUponFacebookDiggRedditGoogle


Discuss this story

I Have a Gixxer 750K4 thats fairly modded and i love it too bits, wouldnt swap it for anything. Even managed to get it featured in the cracking on eoff section of fast bikes not too long ago coz im only 20 . Brilliant handling, plenty of power what more do you need? Ok on a straight a thousand may be able to catch you up and maybe over take you, but theres not alot in it and yopu wait till you reach those twisties . In my opinion this is the ultimate comprimise between power and handling.

Posted: 29/09/2008 at 17:11

I had the K2 750.

Loved it to bits. Around where I live there arent many roads that you could really use the thou, and as you said, the 750 handles very well without much compromise on the power.


Posted: 30/09/2008 at 16:11

My 3,000 mile K5 750 is currently in the for sale section

Posted: 30/09/2008 at 17:24

I've got the K2...........Fu**ing Mental  
http://www.visordown.com/members/images/179090/Gallery/g1.jpg



http://www.visordown.com/members/images/179090/Gallery/gsxr.jpg


Posted: 30/09/2008 at 19:47

got the K7, love it. read my review. it's faster than i am put it that way.

Posted: 30/09/2008 at 21:55

Does anybody know how the throttle valve problem, specificly how to check it?

 My 1999 750 has a mystery problem and the FI light comes on, the dash gives fault code for the fuel pump relay but ive tried a new relay and a new pump with no sucess.

 Any ideas?

 Cheers. Lennie.


Posted: 02/10/2008 at 17:32

Ride to quiet location, smash ignition barrel, set fire to and gently toast.

Get mate to take you home, report bike stolen, collect insurance payout, deposit on new bike.........................problem solved

Next?


Posted: 02/10/2008 at 22:21

Mr_Lennie wrote (see)

Does anybody know how the throttle valve problem, specificly how to check it?

 My 1999 750 has a mystery problem and the FI light comes on, the dash gives fault code for the fuel pump relay but ive tried a new relay and a new pump with no sucess.

 Any ideas?

 Cheers. Lennie.

I had mine  'tweeked ' by a friend who does a lot of drag racing... I'll ask him what he done...

Posted: 03/10/2008 at 10:32

Mr_Lennie wrote (see)

Does anybody know how the throttle valve problem, specificly how to check it?

 My 1999 750 has a mystery problem and the FI light comes on, the dash gives fault code for the fuel pump relay but ive tried a new relay and a new pump with no sucess.

 Any ideas?

 Cheers. Lennie.

Or, alternatively, have a ride down to Cornwall and see him in person...... he will do it at a reasonable price  for you.

Oh, and he has the fastest stock engined busa in Europe over a 1/4mile so he knows his stuff!!


Posted: 03/10/2008 at 10:35

hi ive got a 2000 gsxr 750 y, had it for 2 months, was running poor at idle , i lifted the tank , but took one look n thought it was to mutch for me , so i took it to a xspert , he spent about two hours checking all the sensors, took the air box of n changed the plugs n now its running like a new bike! he put it on the dino n its puting out 121.9 bhp , n all its got is a k&n air filter, so im well chufed! its real smooth , very comfortable for me , im 19 stone , 5,10 ,short legs, so to get somthing that dont hurt my back , n a can ride for over 150 miles, the range of the tank ,without having to stop, is realy suprising, you can go abalutly crazy on it , or just sit it in 6th gear n theres plenty of power to just cruse , with plenty of pick up from as low as 30 mph! i love it , n it still looks real sharp n my bikes got 29000 miles on it n its 10 years old!

Posted: 08/08/2010 at 00:06

Y does my k8 750 fuel light always show Amber is this normal

Posted: 04/02/2013 at 20:30

Mr_Lennie wrote (see)

Does anybody know how the throttle valve problem, specificly how to check it?

 My 1999 750 has a mystery problem and the FI light comes on, the dash gives fault code for the fuel pump relay but ive tried a new relay and a new pump with no sucess.

 Any ideas?

 Cheers. Lennie.

Problem is the 'Secondary throttle valve actuator motor' it's a little twat of a thing with small cogs in and tends to give up at about 25k miles.. To replace is not (tooooooo) expensive... I've had to replace it twice now, once at 24k, again at 49k.. The motor on these bikes is bulletproof if you look after it well you may also be like me and own a K1 GSXR750 that's just about to turn 75,000 miles... I shit you not.. my baby still runs smooth and sweet and I used to track-day her!!

By the way I also own a K6 GSXR750 which is my track bike.. AWESOME!!

 

GSXR 750's rule the world.. perfect balance of power/handling!! Dis-agree-ers will be ignored! 


Posted: 05/02/2013 at 16:23

I own a slightly tatty looking 1999 SRAD. All in all a lovely bike, and a shining example of what bikes were like in the raging 90's when every year seemed to spawn a revolutionary performance revelation, and there were still plenty of lightweight 2-stroke pocket rockets tearing up the twisties to tustle with on a quiet Sunday blast. It is the latter fuel injected model with the slightly fatter section rear wheel (There for fashion rather than function as it actually slows the steering up slightly on previous models). Fuel injection is pretty much where the new age technology ends no namby pamby traction control or fly by wire anti wheely nonsense... this is a bike that relies wholly on rider input to do its thing... This bike is wonderfully raw when you want it to be, yet a total pussycat if need be too.

My eyes were only truly opened to its handling when I removed the steering damper (It has started to pack in so it wasn't doing its job properly anyway), and whilst with it on it handled beautifully without the steering is wonderfully light, precise and neutral, though sometimes scarily neutral.. this is definitely a bike that thrives with being on-throttle, and not feeding that throttle on enough can have it feeling like it wants to drift wide.. there is no top heavy pitching-in feeling here! It corners as if it's still on the straight and level. Unphased and with poise. These bikes have a low seat height as standard so I raised mine about 3/4 of an inch, aware that I would be sharpening the steering even further and making it a touch more wheely prone, it has not been too detrimental to its performance, and still without the damper i find it simply usable and entertaining. The riding position felt odd when I first rode the bike as you kind of sit on top rather than nestled within, but you get used to it.  

I have also toured down to the Alps and back and over to Germany many times on it with the poor ol girl loaded right up and it never really complained once.. OK it is not quite the mad dog it used to be compared with the performance of the latest fillies, but for a no-nonsense bike it still cuts it with the big boys. I just wish I had the spare cash to completely renovate the suspension as that's a job that is definitely overdue, and any wallowing about on this chassis is a waste. My main gripe is the snatchy injection when first coming on-throttle, but learning to be infinitely gradual with the right hand resolves this, or just float the clutch to soak it up.  

All in all I still have days when I totally fall in love with this old machine all over again.  It is still soldiering on fine. A little more power would be nice, but then I have not entered the true realms of performance tuning yet, so if I wanted it i'm sure I could squeeze some out of it.


Posted: 05/02/2013 at 17:45

I own a k3, its my first sports bike, I paid 2k for it, it was a bit unloved and needed attention, so ive overhauled the brakes got ebc xc series discs and brembo sc pads, braded lines on the front and back and ive fitted race plugs and a kn filter, mechanically thats all it needed, comparedto my friends w reg r1 there really isnt alot in it but on this bike you do need to work the gearbox to get the best from it, I do think the gixxers that came after the k3 750 are much better looking bikes but thats just my opinion and for only 2k plus about 650 in parts for my mods I cant complain with the toy I have, maybe a power commander next or a 1000 I will have to see what the money situation is like in a year or two............

Posted: 06/02/2013 at 10:58

Really nice bike


Posted: 07/02/2013 at 11:23

Talkback: Used Review: Suzuki GSX-R750


Busiest motorcycle review conversations