First Ride: 2013 Honda CB500F review

We get a feel of Honda's most significant bike of the year

Posted: 19 February 2013
by Sachin Rao
All-digital dash keeps it clear and simple
The CB looks like a proper 'big' bike
Wide, flat bars offer a relaxed riding position

WHEN you least want to be on a bike is when you learn to appreciate it the most. Twisting down mountain roads in southern Catalonia sounds great on paper, but add rain, fog, cold and random patches of gravel and animal dung into the mix, and a bit more speed than the Spanish authorities and my mum would approve of, and it gets a bit hairy. However, even as the weather worsened, I was confident the 2013 Honda CB500F wouldn't let me down.

The CB500F is the no-frills naked version of the trio that make up Honda's new 500 family, the other being the sporty-looking CBR500R and the adventure-styled CB500X. I say 'looking' and 'styled' because the three bikes are essentially the same – identical chassis, engine, running gear and so on – with only minor differences in the ergonomics and, of course, appearance: behold Honda's cost-saving modular approach, engorged on the success of the NC700 family. The other penny-pinching measure is the decision to build all three models entirely in Thailand for global sales, targeting everyone from A2 licence holders in Europe to people moving up from utilitarian 125s in developing Asian markets.

Honda has released the F and the R first, with bikes expected in UK dealerships in March, and the X to follow two months later. These new 500s re-populate a class left vacant after the disappearance of the Kawasaki ER-5, Suzuki GS500 and Honda's own CB500 twins, much loved by training schools and despatch riders, and plug the yawning gap (in capacity, power and price) between the 250/300 and 600 classes.

The CB500F is modern-looking but not flashy, with a sharp rear end balanced by just a hint of aggression from the headlight's shape and a bit of muscle from the cowls on either side of the tank. The all-new, DOHC parallel-twin engine, a stressed member within the steel frame chassis, occupies centrestage. The quality of materials and the finish look good, certainly better than the CBR250R's. Overall, the F projects an air of smart simplicity and an easy-to-get-on-with philosophy.

And getting on I was, wet leathers and steamed-up spectacles notwithstanding, for the CB500F is a reassuringly stable and friendly ride. You sit upright with a relaxed reach to the flat bars, which are 600mm wide and 1019mm off the ground, and while it definitely feels like a full-size motorcycle, it has a slimness to it that will give a sense of familarity to someone upgrading from a small bike.

Weighing 192 kg and making 47 bhp at 8500 rpm, the F's acceleration is never going to tear the forearms off anyone, but the smooth, linear power delivery means it can be hustled. That and the unassuming engine note meant I often found myself doing 15-20 mph more than I thought I was, and on open stretches it was easy enough to hit 100 mph without feeling especially fussed (though the wind buffeting makes it less than ideal to sit at those speeds). The approximately five-second 0-60 and a 115 mph top should be more than enough for the company's primary target markets of A2 licence holders, people moving up from a 125 and cost-conscious commuters switching from cars.

Importantly, there's a lovely blob of torque right when you need it, between about 3000 and 5000 rpm, peaking at 31.7 lb-ft at 7000 rpm. Twist the throttle in any gear and the CB500F surges forward with a 'yes, sir!' For a good while I enjoyed a lazy spell of torquey twisties by riding the torque bulges with minimal gear changing.

This refined torquiness also makes short work of urban riding, with just a bit of crisp throttle enough to take you past the usual obstacle course of cars and buses, or through orange lights. When you do want to shift gears, the light and precise clutch and gearbox make no mistake.

The CB500F also lets you brake as hard as you like, thanks to standard ABS and decent Metzeler Z8 rubber. I barely used the rear brake during the day's ride, relying on the well-modulated power and progressive feel from the front 320 mm disc.

Though the CB family doesn't sport any fancy gizmos – the rear shock is only adjustable for preload, and there's an all-digital instrument panel, but that's about it – the optional heated grips are pretty handy. They were certainly a boon in conditions like those we experienced on our test ride and should especially please motorcycling newbies and converts from the four-wheeled world.

Sure, a couple more extras – a gear indicator display and perhaps a slipper clutch to soak up overenthusiastic downshifts, a la Kawasaki Ninja 300 – could be useful for newbies. And a more involving engine note would make anyone happier.

But when you see the sticker price of £4,650, you realise what good value the CB500F is – cheaper than the Ninja 300 and only a few hundred quid more than the CBR250R ABS, it's a terrific bargain for what it offers. The yet-to-be-released and non-A2-compliant £4,500 KTM Duke 390 may well entice a few thrill-seekers away, but the 2013 Honda CB500F is an accomplished midsize bike and would make an all-round sound buy.

Model: Honda CB500F

Price: £4,650

Colours: Pearl Himalayas White, Graphite Black, Candy Ruby Red

Previous article
First Ride: 2013 Honda CBR500R review
Next article
First Ride: 2013 Triumph Tiger Sport

honda CB500f launch, honda cb500f speed, honda CB500r price, 2013 Honda CB500F, honda CB500f first ride

Discuss this story

Great review, thanks.

Any views on the fuel economy? I believe it claims close to 80mpg, which sounds pretty optimistic unless you're packing a pipe and slippers.

Posted: 19/02/2013 at 14:39

I don't know, but the CB500F probably has 'glitchy' fuel injection, like the rest of its breed, though not of course mentioned in the report.These 'road tests' and 'impressions' remind me of the 'green un' and 'blue un' road tests of the 1950s, where it was agreed with the British manufacturers that nothing adverse would be said about any bike they tested. When, exactly, was the last time you tested a bad bike? Are they all that good, and do they all deserve the 'wonderful value for money' tag you give them all?

Posted: 19/02/2013 at 17:35

Well done Honda for undercutting the Z300. I agree the fuel consumption would have been nice to read about, not just the top speed of this "almost a big bike". I am sure the fuel injection will be flawless, just like the 250r, it's probably a pair of identical injectors, valves, pistons, etc wrapped up in some new crankcases, after all.

Posted: 22/02/2013 at 19:26

'Glitchy' fuel injection? Where is this coming from? The fuel injection on my 2011 Honda is flawless.

Posted: 26/02/2013 at 04:22

"Glitchy fuel injection"?

I've owned several fuel injected bikes, VFR, DL650, etc.. none of which have had problems with fueling.

I believe one or two early fuel injected bikes, like the XT660 and bigger KTMs might have had less than perfect fuel delivery, but even these can easily be sorted.

These early glitches seem to have struck a chord with some people and now they believe that ALL fuel injected bikes suffer from these faults.

Admittedly fuel injection is more complicated, more difficult to fix, but it makes it a lot easier for a bike to pass emission regulations.

Posted: 26/02/2013 at 09:35

I've been riding this bike now for about a month. One of the best bikes I've ever owned! Smooth throttle responds, smooth engine, Honda transmission in all its snickety goodness! The fuel injection, at least so far, has been perfect.

The bike "only" makes 47 horsepower. But its 47 horsepower that is transmitted to the rear wheel is a very usable way. The power band is very wide. I've had bigger bikes, but as a city and highway commuter, that extra power isn't always usable in an "on street" situation. This bikes power is perfectly matched for city and highway riding.

Plus, I'm getting 64.5 MPG combined city and highway. Not too shabby!

Posted: 25/05/2013 at 16:58

Its a winner for honda,i have had two hondas never had problems with any part of them.Not everyone needs a high performance bike fuelled by testosterone aint got nothing too prove.

Posted: 23/06/2013 at 07:47

I am in Hong Kong and I got the CB500F in candy red, this bike is perfect for this city, very easy to handle and park in tight spots. The upright position is quite comfortable for me. This is my first naked street bike, I love it! Wouldn't go back to full faired sport bike for quite some time! The only problems are the low mirrors and the kick stand being in an awkward position.

Posted: 03/09/2013 at 17:09

Talkback: First Ride: 2013 Honda CB500F review

Which do you think is the best adventure bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

KTM 1190 Adventure (25%)
BMW S1000XR (15%)
KTM 1290 Super Adventure (11%)
Aprilia Caponord 1200 Rally (7%)
Suzuki V-Strom 650XT (4%)
Ducati Multistrada 1200 (8%)
BMW R1200GS/GS Adventure (12%)
KTM 1050 Adventure (12%)
Triumph Tiger 800 XCx (6%)
Which do you think is the best super naked from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

Triumph Speed Triple R (33%)
Kawasaki Z1000 (15%)
Suzuki GSX-S1000 (5%)
Yamaha MT-09 (6%)
KTM 1290 Super Duke R (18%)
Ducati Monsters 1200S (9%)
BMW S1000R (9%)
Aprilia Tuono V4 1100 (6%)
Which do you think is the best sports tourer from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

Kawasaki Versys 650 (36%)
MV Agusta Turismo Veloce (9%)
Ducati Multistrada 1200 (5%)
Yamaha MT-09 Tracer (3%)
BMW R1200RS (4%)
Triumph Tiger 800 XRx (10%)
Honda VFR800 (5%)
Kawasaki Versys 1000 (7%)
Honda VFR800X Crossrunner (11%)
Kawasaki Z1000SX (8%)
Which do you think is the best cruiser from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

Harley-Davidson Street 750 (52%)
Yamaha XV950 (7%)
Moto Guzzi Audace (6%)
Ducati Diavel (6%)
Kawasaki Vulcan S (8%)
Harley-Davidson Sportster Forty-Eight (8%)
Triumph Thunderbird LT (4%)
Honda Gold Wing F6C (4%)
Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 (4%)
Moto Guzzi Eldorado (1%)
Which do you think is the best A2 bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

Kawasaki Ninja 250 SL/Z250 SL (26%)
Suzuki Inazuma 250F (6%)
Yamaha R3 (11%)
Kawasaki Z300 (8%)
Honda CBR500R (6%)
KTM RC 390 (16%)
Honda CB500F (1%)
Kawasaki Ninja 300 (11%)
KTM Duke 390 (12%)
Honda CB500X (3%)
Which do you think is the best tourer from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

Honda Gold Wing F6B (39%)
Harley FLHX Street Glide (16%)
Honda ST1300 Pan European (4%)
BMW R1200RT (2%)
Yamaha FJR1300 (3%)
Triumph Trophy (3%)
Honda CTX1300 (5%)
Honda Gold Wing GL1800 (5%)
BMW K1600GT (10%)
Harley Electra Glide Ultra Limited (12%)
Which do you think is the best retro bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

Yamaha XJR1300 Racer (45%)
Royal Enfield Continental GT (12%)
Yamaha SR400 (4%)
Triumph Scrambler (8%)
Honda CB1100EX (4%)
BMW R nineT (9%)
Yamaha XJR1300 (6%)
Ducati Scrambler (4%)
Moto Guzzi V7 II (5%)
Triumph Thruxton (3%)
Which do you think is the best newcomer's bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

Honda CB650F (29%)
Kawasaki Versys 650 (6%)
Honda NC750S (2%)
Yamaha MT-07 (5%)
Triumph Street Triple R (4%)
Honda CBR650F (4%)
Ducati Monster 821 (7%)
BMW F800R (4%)
Kawasaki ER-6n/f (16%)
Honda NC750X (24%)
Which do you think is the best 125 from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

KTM RC 125 (39%)
Honda MSX125 (4%)
Suzuki Van Van (5%)
Yamaha YBR125 (5%)
KTM Duke 125 (10%)
Honda CBF125 (9%)
Yamaha YZF-R125 (6%)
Aprilia RS4 125 (9%)
Honda CBR125R (3%)
Yamaha MT-125 (11%)
Which do you think is the best sports bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

Honda Fireblade SP (36%)
Suzuki GSX-S1000F (15%)
Yamaha YZF-R1 (8%)
BMW S1000RR (8%)
Ducati 1299 Panigale S (7%)
KTM RC390 (6%)
Kawasaki Ninja H2 (3%)
Yamaha YZF-R3 (2%)
Aprilia RSV4 RF (14%)
Ducati 899 Panigale (2%)
Which do you think is the best scooter from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

Vespa GTS 300 Super (40%)
Yamaha TMAX (8%)
Piaggio MP3 500 (6%)
Honda Forza 125 (2%)
Yamaha NMAX (5%)
Quadro4 (11%)
Kymco Xciting 400i (3%)
Kawasaki J300 (21%)
Honda Integra (4%)
Yamaha Tricity (2%)
Which do you think is the best new product of the year from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards

Thanks for voting!

The Held Kiruna gloves (51%)
The Merlin Outlast Voyager jacket (4%)
Alpinestars Nucleon armour collection (6%)
The Rev'it! Dominator jacket (6%)
The Shark Skwal helmet (12%)
Alpinestars Mono Fuse Gore-Tex boots (2%)
Bobster over the glasses goggles (3%)
The Rev'it! Safe way belt (3%)
The Dainese Kevlar jeans range (5%)
Alpinestars district boots (8%)

Busiest motorcycle review conversations