Triumph Street Triple R (2009 - 2012)

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Triumph Street Triple R (2009 - 2012)
a bike you can go ballistic on, charging into corners and generally playing the fool, while for newer riders it’s very reassuring and nimble

Our Review

Reviewed: 10 November 2008 by Visordown
Since its launch last year Triumph's Street Triple has exceeded all expectations and proved itself a phenomenal success. Anyone who has tried to place an order for this little streetbike will be familiar with the term ‘waiting list.’ As it currently stands if you try and order one in white ...  Continue reading

Gallery

13 images of Triumph Street Triple R (2009 - 2012) See all


See all images...

Reader Reviews

9 user reviews of Triumph Street Triple R (2009 - 2012) See all

Overall reader score

kwh
More brilliant than mere words can express. Better than sex with a particularly filthy supermodel and three of her kinkiest mates in a pool filled with lightly warmed baby oil, on a tropical beach. Continue reading...
Just a good little bike. Continue reading...
The few small faults seem to have been rectified in the 2013 model, but the longer 1st gear will spoil some of the fun Continue reading...
It still sounds great and I cannot help twisting its ear from time to time, it flatters my riding and never feels scary out of shape just exciting out of shape, bloody cool bike. Never found any problems with Continue reading...
I absolutely love my STR and get serious butterflies every time I start her up. If you are 'umming and aarring' about getting one of these, here's my advice; get off your computer and go and buy one now!!! Continue reading...

Discussions

just followed the "latest reviews" link................and there's no review.

Posted: 21/09/2009 at 01:09


KC

Had mine since April, 1500 miles of sheer fun, very responsive and handles well on our pot holed A & B roads in the South West.

Best tip - wait for an aftermarket flyscreen, the Triumph one is useless and expensive (£175).

Buy one, you will not regret it!

Posted: 14/10/2009 at 08:31

Had mine about 4 weeks (1000mile) just getting used to it, very  light and easy to ride would suite just about any rider as its very tame at low revs with a very broad power band but goes like the space shuttle above 8 grand.

Brake are really good and very progressive, well balanced.

Get a wind blast about 75-80 so long hauls may be tiring but still lots off fun, quality seems good only complaint is that they dont give you a hugger, tool kit flyscreen as standard.  Switched the silly blue gear change lights off as they were doing my head in.

Its sounds great and it can get a bit addictive as it encorages you to give it the beans.

I will keep this for few years, looking forward to the 2010 IOM

Posted: 28/10/2009 at 21:30

Sold a CBR6 in August bought a STR Sept 09

Bad points (yes I found 2)

Dunlop Qualifier front tyre and Dunlop qualifier rear tyre

They were sssoooooo bad I had to get rid of them after 2000 miles still life in them but the grip was so bad there may not have been life in me by the time they required changing

Metzler Roadtec Z8's have transformed the bike into what it was meant to be

Great scratcher at weekends, commuting is a joy the engine allows you to filter as there is always power, forget gears it does not matter

touring, yes you can, get creative in fitting luggage with arrow under seat exhausts

This bike is everything I wanted, amazingly it out does the CBR on everything. Press always said that CBR 6 was the best all round bike, sorry disagree STR does it all better with a much bigger grin whilst doing it

I can see why Triumph were caught out and can't make enough, bad business model (sorry criticism Triumph) but the only one I have

 I wonder how many other STR's will be at the IOM TT?

Posted: 07/09/2010 at 20:02

Still got it 13,000 mile later, no problems so far, the only problem I have is I cannot find anything new that catches my eye. (it was a blast at the IOM)

Posted: 08/05/2012 at 20:36

Looking at one, but need to know if anyone takes a pillion? The mrs likes to come out now & again.  Cheers

Posted: 16/02/2013 at 20:31

Takes a pillion fine. Not ideal for anything longer than an hour really as the back footrests are quite high up, otherwise the wife is out on mine all of the time

Posted: 17/02/2013 at 15:32

My missus enjoys going on the back of mine without any complaints,after an hour a break is reccomended though

Posted: 21/02/2013 at 18:14

Had one and put 9,000 miles on it, the best bike I ever had. It will out do most other bikes on the twisties and is very comfortable and the engine is one of the best.Suitable for new and experienced riders, it made me feel like Barry Sheen.

Get one you will not be disappointed.

But please bring back the round headlights.

Posted: 26/02/2013 at 16:55



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Our score:

Your score:

Need to know

Better than the stock Street Triple thanks to pimped suspension and brakes.
 
Supply - they sell out fast!
  • Price: £6099.00
  • Year: from 2009
  • Top speed: 139mph
  • Price new: 6099
  • Engine capacity: 675cc
  • Power: 107bhp
  • Torque: 51lb ft
  • Weight: 167kg
  • 0-60: 4 seconds

Bike Insurance

Which do you think is the best A2 bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best cuiser from out shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best newcomer's bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best retro bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best scooter from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best sports bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best sports tourer from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best super naked bike from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best tourer from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best 125 from our shortlist? Vote now in our Readers' Choice Awards
Which do you think is the best new product from our shortlist? Vote now

Click here

Busiest motorcycle review conversations