2010 MotoGP Championship Standings: Malaysia

"This is a dream come true" - Lorenzo takes 2010 MotoGP title

Visordown News's picture
Submitted by Visordown News on Mon, 11/10/2010 - 09:06

JORGE LORENZO has been crowned 2010 MotoGP World Champion following his third place in last weekend's Malaysian GP.

The Spaniard looked set to take the title after nearest rival Dani Pedrosa failed to race at Sepang, following surgery to a broken collarbone sustained in practice at Motegi a fortnight ago.

Speaking about his 2010 World Title, Lorenzo said:

"This is a dream come true for me today, I can't really believe it yet; I need five minutes on my own just to relax, enjoy the quiet and take in what I have done! This is something I have always wanted and something I've dreamed of my whole life, so it is the most incredible moment for me. It is difficult to find the words to thank everyone, I am just so happy, but I have to say thank you to Yamaha, my team and everyone who has made this happen.

"I started very well today, I didn't lose any positions but then Andrea and Valentino came past me and I wasn't riding as well as I could have, so I didn't want to push too much. Anyway I knew that winning the race wasn't the most important thing this time. I had to just put myself on autopilot and get the points I needed. Now we can relax and enjoy the last three races of the championship, but first of all we are looking forward to celebrating tonight!"

  2010 MotoGP Championship Standings: Malaysia

    1.      Jorge Lorenzo (SPA) Fiat Yamaha Team      313
    2.     Dani Pedrosa (SPA) Repsol Honda Team 228
    3.     Valentino Rossi (ITA) Fiat Yamaha Team     181
    4.     Casey Stoner (AUS) Ducati Marlboro Team     180
    5.     Andrea Dovizioso (ITA) Repsol Honda Team     179
    6.     Ben Spies (USA) Monster Yamaha Tech 3     152
    7.     Nicky Hayden (USA) Ducati Marlboro Team     139
    8.     Randy de Puniet (FRA) LCR Honda MotoGP     94
    9.     Marco Simoncelli (ITA) San Carlo Honda Gresini     92
    10.     Marco Melandri (ITA) San Carlo Honda Gresini     86
    11.     Colin Edwards (USA) Monster Yamaha Tech 3     81
    12.     Hector Barbera (SPA) Aspar Team     74
    13.     Alvaro Bautista (SPA) Rizla Suzuki MotoGP     69
    14.     Aleix Espargaro (SPA) Pramac Green Team     52
    15.     Hiroshi Aoyama (JPN) Interwetten-Honda MotoGP     44
    16.     Loris Capirossi (ITA) Rizla Suzuki MotoGP     41
    17.     Mika Kallio (FIN) Pramac Green Team     38
    18.     Alex de Angelis (ITA) Interwetten Honda MotoGP     11
    19.     Kousuke Akiyoshi (JPN) Interwetten Honda MotoGP 4
    20.     Wataru Yoshikawa (JPN) Fiat Yamaha Team     1

Follow Visordown

Latest News

Latest Features

Latest Bike Reviews

Crash Media Group
Visordown is part of the CMG Full Throttle Network© : welcoming over 3 million consumers each month