NEW Visordown Marketplace

Browse latest bikes for sale. List your bikes for FREE

Davies heads World Superbike challengers at Phillip Island Ducati's Chaz Davies has taken control on top the timesheets at Phillip Island

Submitted by Haydn Cobb on Fri, 24/02/2017 - 15:43

Chaz Davies Ducati's Chaz Davies has taken control on top the timesheets following Friday free practice for the opening round of the 2017 World Superbike Championship at Phillip Island. 

With the afternoon FP2 session proving predominately slower than this morning's FP1, although it was Jonathan Rea on the Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R that led Marco Melandri as the chequered flag fell for the second time it was still four tenths down on Davies' earlier effort on the combined leaderboard. 

With the top six would remaining unchanged at the front, Davies led the way with a 1min 30.189secs effort, a tenth clear of Rea with Barni Ducati's Xavi Fores, Tom Sykes, Melandri and Alex Lowes.

Lorenzo Savadori made the strongest impression between sessions, securing a spot in Superpole 2 with a rise from 13th to seventh on the Milwaukee Aprilia, with Nicky Hayden, Jordi Torres and Markus Reiterberger also through to the definitive qualifying session by rounding out the top ten.


Full free practice results (1 and 2 combined) from the opening round of the 2017 World Superbike Championship at Phillip Island, Australia.

1. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 1199R 1m 30.189s 
2. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 30.255s 
3. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R 1m 30.486s 
4. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 30.573s * 
5. Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati 1199R 1m 30.627s 

6. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 1m 30.817s 
7. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 1m 30.847s 
8. Nicky Hayden USA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 1m 31.099s 
9. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR 1m 31.121s 
10. Markus Reiterberger GER Althea BMW S1000RR 1m 31.129s 
11. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 1m 31.287s 
12. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 1m 31.351s 
13. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR 1m 31.405s 
14. Randy Krummenacher SWI Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 31.468s * 
15. Alex de Angelis SMR Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 31.490s 
16. Stefan Bradl GER Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 1m 31.707s 
17. Ayrton Badovini ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 32.712s 
18. Josh Brookes AUS ER Motorsports Yamaha YZF-R1 1m 32.973s 
19. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 32.055s 
20. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 32.129s 
21. Riccardo Russo ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1 1m 32.563s * 

Ruled out by injury 

Leandro Mercado ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4

* set fastest time in FP1

Follow Visordown

Latest News

Latest Features

Crash Media Group
Visordown is part of the CMG Full Throttle Network© : welcoming over 3 million consumers each month