NEW Visordown Marketplace

Browse latest bikes for sale. List your bikes for FREE

Pedrosa on pole in Honda front row lockout

Dani Pedrosa has secured his first MotoGP pole position since Sepang 2015 at Jerez

Submitted by Haydn Cobb on Sat, 06/05/2017 - 15:33

Dani Pedrosa

Dani Pedrosa has secured his first MotoGP pole position since Sepang 2015 at Jerez having beaten Marc Marquez by less than half a hundredth of a second, while LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow completes an all-Honda front row.

As the pace quickened for the final qualifying runs Marquez held provisional pole only to see it bettered by Pedrosa with a 1m 38.249s. On his final fast lap Marquez suffered a small slide tipping into the fast turn 12 and with it lost the vital tenths of a second to fail to grab pole position back.

Crutchlow’s late lap saw him push Maverick Vinales off of the front row in qualifying to stamp out Honda’s domination, while Suzuki’s Andrea Iannone progressed through Q1 to jump on to fifth on the grid.

Johann Zarco continued to impress by qualifying on the second row ahead of Movistar Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi in seventh who is joined on row three by Ducati’s Jorge Lorenzo and Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Jonas Folger.

Jack Miller starts from the front of row four ahead of Scott Redding as Aleix Espargaro stood out for Aprilia having progressed through to Q2 by beating the likes of Danilo Petrucci and Andrea Dovizioso.

Full Qualifying 2 results for the Spanish MotoGP:

1. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 38.249s [Lap 6/7] 291km/h (Top Speed) 
2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 38.298s +0.049s [8/8] 291km/h 

3. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 38.453s +0.204s [6/7] 291km/h 
4. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 38.677s +0.428s [3/7] 292km/h 
5. Andrea Iannone ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 38.744s +0.495s [3/8] 291km/h 
6. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 38.861s +0.612s [6/8] 291km/h 
7. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 38.908s +0.659s [6/7] 290km/h 
8. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 1m 38.910s +0.661s [6/8] 293km/h 
9. Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 39.108s +0.859s [8/8] 291km/h 
10. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 39.125s +0.876s [3/8] 290km/h 
11. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 1m 39.152s +0.903s [5/8] 292km/h 
12. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 39.400s +1.151s [2/5] 288km/h 

Full Qualifying 1 results for the Spanish MotoGP:

13. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17) 1m 39.090s 290km/h
14. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 1m 39.255s 294km/h
15. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 1m 39.282s 294km/h
16. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 1m 39.321s 291km/h
17. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP16) 1m 39.462s 291km/h
18. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 39.564s 292km/h
19. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 39.678s 294km/h
20. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 39.824s 287km/h
21. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 1m 39.906s 293km/h
22. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 40.213s 287km/h
23. Takuya Tsuda JPN Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 40.386s 287km/h

Follow Visordown

Latest News

Latest Features

Crash Media Group
Visordown is part of the CMG Full Throttle Network© : welcoming over 3 million consumers each month