NEW Visordown Marketplace

Browse latest bikes for sale. List your bikes for FREE

Marquez the master at Sachsenring, takes MotoGP championship lead

Marc Marquez has claimed an eighth straight victory at Sachsenring.

Submitted by Haydn Cobb on Sun, 02/07/2017 - 15:19

Marc Marquez, Repsol Honda [Credit: Gold and Goose]

Marc Marquez has claimed an eighth straight victory at Sachsenring in all classes, making it five in a row in MotoGP, after a measured performance beating Tech 3 Yamaha rookie Jonas Folger who almost pulled off a complete surprise at his home round.

The Repsol Honda rider, starting from his eighth consecutive pole position in Germany, stormed ahead in the opening stages only to be reeled in by Folger and on lap six he took the lead at the penultimate corner to delight the home fans.

Marquez kept the MotoGP rookie in check during the middle third of the race and leapt on a mistake from the German on lap 11 to retake the lead. The Repsol Honda rider quickly built a cushion to maintain his position to the chequered flag and win an eighth straight race at the Sachsenring, stretching back to 2010 when he won in the 125cc class.

Behind the front two Dani Pedrosa scored a lonely third place ahead of Movistar Yamaha’s Maverick Vinales whose charge was held up having started on the fourth row of the grid. He finished ahead of team-mate Valentino Rossi with Alvaro Bautista sixth, Aleix Espargaro seventh and Andrea Dovizioso eighth.

The results set-up an intriguing MotoGP championship complexion going into the mid-season break with Marquez now leading by five points from Vinales with Dovizioso just one extra point behind and Rossi in fourth 10 points off of Marquez.

Johann Zarco produced a recovery drive from an awful qualifying to take ninth place as Cal Crutchlow rounded out the top 10.

Jorge Lorenzo faded throughout the race to finish 11th, just ahead of Danilo Petrucci in 12th as Pol Espargaro, Bradley Smith and Jack Miller rounded out the points.

It was a disastrous day for Sam Lowes and Andrea Iannone who both crashed out while Hector Barbera was disqualified for not taking a ride through penalty for a jump start.


Full German MotoGP race results:

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 40m 59.525s
2. Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 41m 2.835s
3. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 41m 11.071s
4. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 41m 13.778s
5. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 41m 14.505s
6. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP16) 41m 16.059s
7. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 41m 19.261s
8. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 41m 19.713s
9. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 41m 20.663s
10. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 41m 23.735s
11. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 41m 25.184s
12. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17) 41m 31.065s
13. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 41m 31.704s
14. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 41m 35.978s
15. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 41m 37.296s
16. Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 41m 37.377s
17. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP15) 41m 38.848s
18. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 41m 40.715s
19. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15) 41m 59.375s
20. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 42m 1.189s
21. Alex Rins ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 42m 1.220s

Andrea Iannone ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF
Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* DNF
Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP16) DSQ

Follow Visordown

Latest News

Latest Features

Crash Media Group
Visordown is part of the CMG Full Throttle Network© : welcoming over 3 million consumers each month