Legends to line-up for Centenary TT celebrations

See historic bikes and riders at this year's Isle of Man TT

Posted: 15 December 2010
by Visordown News
Image: Fottofinders

AN 'A' list of legendary racers and iconic TT machinery has been confirmed for the 2011 TT ‘Milestones of the Mountain’ Parade lap to celebrate the centenary of racing around the Isle of Man TT Mountain Course.

The parade, which takes place on Senior Race day, Friday 10th June, will feature twenty-six of the most important events, riders and moments in a hundred years of racing.

One of the greatest names in TT history, Honda, who were the first Japanese manufacturer to contest the event, and who have since gone on to win 155 times, will be represented by former world champion and TT winner Luigi Taveri, who will be riding a 1964 Honda RC161.

One of Yamaha’s most successful riders, Phil Read, the 8 times TT winner and 8 times World Champion, will be riding the factory 4 cylinder two-stroke 250cc Yamaha that he raced successfully in the 1968 TT and world championship.

The Senior TT winning Honda RC30 from 1988 will be ridden by Gary Dunlop who will be representing his father, the 5 time World Champion Joey. The Northern Ireland racer first competed on the Isle of Man in 1976 and his record of 26 victories leaves him as the most successful TT rider of all time.

Scotsman Steve Hislop, who was the first rider to lap at over 120mph and took part in what is widely acknowledged as one of the all time great races against Carl Fogarty – the 1992 Senior TT - will be represented twice in the parade by close friends Steve Plater and Stuart Easton. Steve, who has two TT victories to his name and is the current Senior TT Race Record holder, will be riding a replica RC30 to represent Steve's achievement as the first rider to lap at more than 120mph in 1989, whilst current BSB star and TT hopeful Stuart Easton will ride the ABUS 588cc rotary Norton from the epic 1992 Senior Race.

Northern Ireland’s Philip McCallen, the first rider to win 4 races in one week, will be riding a Honda RC45. Phil, who won 11 TT’s in a career that ran from 1989 to 1999, will be on the starting grid with the man that broke his record, Ian Hutchinson, who will be riding his history making Padgett’s Honda Superbike.

Nine-time TT winner David Jefferies will be represented by his uncle Nick, who will be riding the V&M Racing Yamaha R1 that ‘DJ’ raced in his 1999 campaign.

His great friend and rival John McGuinness, who has dominated the TT leader board with 15 victories since his first victory in 1999, will be bringing his 2007 Honda Superbike, on which he became the first man to break the 130mph lap for the 37¾ mile course.

Previous article
Storrar to make TT debut in 2011
Next article
John Hopkins to race in BSB?


Discuss this story

Talkback: Legends to line-up for Centenary TT celebrations

Busiest motorcycle review conversations