Crutchlow leaves Rizla on a high

Outgoing Rizla rider impresses at Mallory

Posted: 22 October 2007
by Tim Skilton

RIZLA SUZUKI's Cal Crutchlow, took his first career Superbike win at

the Race of the Year at Mallory Park today, finishing his first season in BSB

on a high.

Crutchlow picked up pole position and the fastest lap of the race with a time of 51.582secs. Cal, aboard his Rizla Suzuki GSX-R1000, quickly got to grips with the 1.39-mile circuit and led from the first corner to the chequered flag. He was delighted to win on his last outing as a Rizla Suzuki Superbike racer.

Rizla Suzuki guest rider Jenny Tinmouth became the first woman in the UK

to race a Superbike. She had a successful day on track and went faster

with every lap " eventually finishing 20th.

As the team heads into the winter break outgoing Team Manager Simon

Buckmaster will hand-over to Jack Valentine at the start of November.

News of the 2008 Rizla Suzuki rider line-up will be announced soon.

Race results:


2: Scott Smart (Kawasaki) +2.378

3: Billy McConnell (Yamaha) +16.244

4: James Haydon (Kawasaki) +16.900

5: Tristan Palmer (Yamaha) +25.522

6: Peter Ward (Yamaha) +25.735

7: Kenny Gilbertson (Kawasaki) +40.864

8: Peter Baker (Suzuki) +43.582

9: Dean Johnson (Kawasaki) +50.479

10: Kieran Blair (Suzuki) +50.716


Previous article
MotoGP: Malaysian GP - Sepang
Next article
MotoGP: Malaysian GP - Sepang

Niall Mackenzie

Discuss this story

Talkback: Crutchlow leaves Rizla on a high

Busiest motorcycle review conversations