Suzuki GN125/DR125 Wiring Problem

16 messages
12/04/2008 at 14:39

Hi, I have a 1994 GN125 into which i have fitted a DR125 engine, the wiring for the cdi doesn't match up as the dr engine has six wires coming from the generator and cdi pickup but the cdi ignitor has only two, i have a haynes manual but i'm not very good at electrical stuff.

Was told that I needed to get a DR125 CDI and wiring loom, if that is the case, do you have any idea where I could find one?

thanks in advance for your help.

12/04/2008 at 20:16

It's usually advisable to run an engine with a CDI unit designed for it so that the ignition advance curve matches what the engine needs for safe performance. I don't see that you'd need a DR125 wiring loom tho'.

Generally you should find that three of the six wires are very similar colour - often all yellow or all white. These should be the generator output and will need to connect to the regulator / rectifier input.

Of the remaining three wires two should be from the ignition trigger coils and go to the CDI unit.

The final wire could be a common earth for the two triggers, or possibly (but pretty unlikely) the wire to the neutral switch.

What colour are the wires coming from the DR125 engine?

What bike / engine do you have the haynes manual for? Rather than buying a wiring loom for a DR125 and trying to graft it onto the GN, I'd buy haynes manuals (off ebay or similar) for both bikes and match the wires together.

Still might need a DR125 CDI unit though.. 

arrrf.
Edited: 12/04/2008 at 20:17
12/04/2008 at 20:32

I have already conected the 3 yellow wires and there are 6 more from the engine, 1 of which (black/white) is the earth.

I do have the haynes manuals for both bikes which shows that there is a blue and a green on the GN cdi and from the DR engine there is a : black/white, blue/red, red/green, red, red/black, white.

how do i work out which go where?
cheers

12/04/2008 at 23:18