Honda Varadero XL125 - Starting Problem

1 to 20 of 22 messages
16/06/2006 at 16:11
Hi guys!

I'm relatively new to this motorcycle lark, so please exuse my ignorance if I'm asking something dull!

Went out to try and start my bike yesterday and it was almost as if the battery had run flat. Engine turned over a few times and then nothing but a loud *CLICK* from underneath the left hand side of the seat (near battery and alarm/immobiliser).

Thinking that I must've somehow run the battery down I gave it a full charge last night. Gave it another try this morning and was greeted by a couple of splutters from the engine and then more *CLICK*ing.

I'm pretty sure the battery is fine as it's been replaced about a month ago and was doing okay up till yesterday. The lights, speedo etc. are all fine too.. they don't dim when I try and start the bike which would suggest to me there's enough juice in there to get things running.

Any ideas before I start wheeling to the local garage?

Cheers in advance!
16/06/2006 at 18:38
Sounds odd. The click is probably the starter relay / starter clutch maybe. But if that had died then you wouldnt get any turning of the engine at all.
Is it possible the battery was dead til you charged it, now you're trying to start a flooded bike? Did you crank it over long before you gave up and took the battery out? Take the plugs out and crank it for a bit with rag over the plug hole. Let plugs dry out, give them a go with a soft wire brush. Might be enough to get you going. As you say, doesn't sound charging related.
Next thought is the alarm. Does it have a "service" mode? Engage that and see if it starts. Maybe it's draining your battery? Its only a small batt on a 125 of course, not really "meant" for any extra load.
17/06/2006 at 14:00
Ok.. update.

To answer your question - nope, didn't crank the motor very long, probably about 5 seconds.